I’m a software engineer and have been using WinSCP for years. Recently, I’ve been having some trouble connecting to my network. The first time it happened, I couldn’t figure out what was wrong. The next time, I tried connecting to my network and the computer said it couldn’t find the network. Then, the next time, I tried connecting to my network and the computer said it couldn’t find the computer. Finally, the last time it happened was when I was trying to connect to my work network and my home network at the same time. All of these connections were successful before but now they’re all failing. What’s going on?


Note: if you haven’t switched to using SCP or SFTP to transfer files instead of regular insecure FTP, you should really do so.

This messagebox needs to go away!

To change this setting, you’ll have to modify your saved connections in the WinSCP Login screen.

Select “Connection” in the left-hand treeview, and then change the “Keepalives” radio button to “Executing dummy protocol commands”.

You could also use the option for “Sending of null SSH packets”, but not all servers support that option, and we want that error message to go away.

Make sure you click the Save button after you are done.

Download the awesome WinSCP client